A. Jeffrey Capeci, Chairman Mary Ann Jacob, Vice Chair Dan Amaral Jan Andras Kathy Fetchick James S. Belden



Gary Davis George T. Ferguson Kevin Fitzgerald Bob Merola Ben Spragg Richard Woycik

3 Primrose Lane Newtown, CT. 06470 Tel. (203) 270-4210 www.newtown-ct.gov

MOTIONS of the Regular Meeting of the Legislative Council Held in the Board Room in the Newtown Municipal Center, 3 Primrose Street, Newtown, Connecticut Tuesday, June 15, 2011

* These are draft minutes and as such are subject to correction by the Legislative Council at the next regular meeting. All corrections will be determined in minutes of the meeting which they were corrected.

Chairman Jeff Capeci called the meeting to order at 7:35 pm.

PRESENT: Ben Spragg, Dan Amaral, George Ferguson, Jim Belden, Jan Andras, Gary Davis, Rich Woycik, Kevin Fitzgerald, Bob Merola, Kathy Fetchick, Mary Ann Jacob, and Chairman Jeff Capeci **ABSENT:** none

ALSO PRESENT: First Selectman Patricia Llodra, Finance Director Bob Tait, Economic Development Commission Director Liz Stocker; members of the EDC Don Sharpe and Margaret Oliger; Chairman and CEO of Advanced Fusion Systems (AFS) Dr. William Joyce and AFS Treasurer Robert Powell; and 2 members of the press.

Ms. Jacob moved to accept the minutes from the regular meeting, June 1, 2011 as corrected, Mr. Spragg seconded and the motion unanimously carried.

Correction: Page 5, under Committee Reports, Ordinance Committee, 3rd paragraph after motion, 2nd sentence, "... any *access* amounts..." should be, "... any *excess* amounts..."

Ms. Jacob moved to approve Advanced Fusion Systems (AFS) Incentive Program Application. Mr. Fitzgerald seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

Incorporating Mr. Spragg's friendly amendment, Ms. Fetchick moved to support the administration's transfer of \$150,000 of unexpended encumbrances from other uses general ledger accounts (general fund) 01-257, "BOE Encumbrance Carryover" (\$68,000) and 01-0261, "BOS Encumbrance Carryover" (\$82,000) to the Capital / Non-Recurring fund. Mrs. Jacob seconded and the motion was approved 10-2. Mr. Woycik and Mr. Merola voted against the motion.

Mr. Spragg moved to transfer from 01650-1006, Benefits, \$606; and 01650-2017, Fuel Oil, \$25,350 to 01650-2011, Supplies, \$3,600; and 01650-2021, Sewer Assessment, \$606; and 01650-4001, Contractual Custodian, \$17,750; and 01650-4060, Contractual Services, \$4,000. Ms. Andras seconded and the motion unanimously carried.

Newtown Legislative Council

Mr. Spragg moved to transfer from 01515-2018, Building Electric, \$3,000, to 01515-103, Overtime. Ms. Fetchick seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Spragg moved to transfer from 01570-2000, Contingency, \$11,400, to 01180-1005, Referenda. Ms. Andras seconded. The motion unanimously carried.

Mr. Spragg moved to transfer from 01515-4025, Contractual Services, \$15,000; 01650-2017, Fuel Oil, \$4,650; and 01570-2000, Contingency, \$21,380, to 01510-1003, Overtime, \$5,538; and 01510-2032, Salt, \$35,492. Mr. Ferguson seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Spragg moved to transfer from 01500-1003, Payroll, \$25,000; 01500-4065, Contractual Roadside, \$25,000; and 01570-2000, Contingency, \$46,500; to 01500-1004, Overtime, \$7,500; 01500-3050, Repairs, \$79,000; and 01500-2016, Equipment, Fuel \$10,000. Mr. Merola seconded. The motion unanimously carried.

Ms. Jacob moved to approve all changes to existing Rules of the Legislative Council as recommended by the Administration Committee. Mr. Belden seconded and the motion was unanimously approved.

Ms. Jacob moved to add section A1-15 as recommended by the Administration Committee. Mr. Ferguson seconded and the motion was approved 10-2. Ms. Fetchick and Mr. Fitzgerald voted against the motion.

Mr. Spragg moved to refer review of the policy, on moving year end monies to the Capital/ Non-Recurring Fund, to the Board of Finance. Ms. Fetchick seconded. The motion unanimously carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:34 pm.

Ted Swigart, Clerk